Author Topic: Music - a consensus?  (Read 1534 times)

Offline Lonely Summer

• Full
Music - a consensus?
« on: January 20, 2011, 11:10:18 AM »
I don't know if this is an appropriate question here or not. I guess I will find out. Is there a consensus among the members here on music, secular or religious? I'm a working musician, songwriter. A lot of the songs I write are specifically influenced by my Christian beliefs. Some of the songs I write are not so specifically influenced by that, although I personally find it hard to segregate music into "religious" or "Christian" and "secular". I perform mostly "secular" material when out performing, though. Some Christians are okay with this; others frown on it. Yeah, I know, my only concern should be is "what does God say about it?" but I am curious about the opinions here (btw, I'm a newbie).

Offline Molly

• Gold
Re: Music - a consensus?
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2011, 11:16:05 AM »
Seems to me the musicians are part of the priestly ministry.

Got any youtubes? :bigGrin:

1 Chronicles 15:16
David told the leaders of the Levites to appoint their fellow Levites as musicians to make a joyful sound with musical instruments: lyres, harps and cymbals.

Offline Cardinal

• < Moderator >
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2011, 07:55:33 PM »
 :cloud9: Years ago, I was asking Him about whether or not I was still allowed to do something I enjoyed. There was nothing inherently "wrong" with it, but I felt guilty over every waking minute not being about Him. He said, "I don't care what you do, as long as you put Me first."

Obviously, you could take that quite literally and with evil intent twist it to suit the flesh, but in proper perspective what it did was release me from condemnation I had put on myself. I realized that if I put Him first, everything else had it's proper place.

I imagine that He can use you to reach people regardless of what music you're playing, if you put Him first, yes?  :happygrin: