Author Topic: What is meant by the Kingdom of God?  (Read 2120 times)

Offline IceMan84

• Full
What is meant by the Kingdom of God?
« on: February 07, 2012, 12:38:02 AM »
I have been studying UR for a few years now and feel that, for the most part, I understand the main concepts. However, one thing that I'm still a little unclear on is what is meant by the phrase "Kingdom of God". It seems as though it is sometimes used to refer to something that is already in place in the present time on earth, while in other situations it feels like it is being referred to in the future sense. So I guess my main question is this: is the Kingdom of God something that has already been established with Christ's sacrifice for our sins, or is it something that is still to be experienced in the future, such as the millennial reign of Christ?

Offline jabcat

• Admin
  • SINNER SAVED BY GRACE
Re: What is meant by the Kingdom of God?
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2012, 12:45:30 AM »
Oh my!  I think that's a tough one, often barely understood.  I'll share some thoughts, but little if any of this is "gospel"  lol

I personally believe there was a kingdom of God Jesus spoke of during His earthly ministry, to the Jews.  It seems it had to do with belief in, relationship with, and obedience to Him during that time, yet few would find it (many were blinded).  Most called for His death.

I believe we also can live in the kingdom while here on earth, as believers, fellowshiping with Him.  Being in a close relationship with Him.

But then I also believe the kingdom to be that time when He ushers in the next age, and in the process God becomes all in all.  I believe the scripture says something about the kingdom being handed over to the Father at that time?  Well, just some thoughts.  Maybe I should have said "I'm not sure".   :laughing7: