Author Topic: baptism and the Holy Spirit  (Read 2721 times)

albertx46

baptism and the Holy Spirit
« on: November 30, 2008, 01:34:05 PM »
Hi bros and sis,

I am quite new to UR...just wonder...

Is the ritual of baptism necessary for one to receive the Holy Ghost? I know this is a symbol of one's commitment to a Christian life, but how symbolic is it? I've hovered around this site but haven't found an answer.

If so, why were the baptisteries not found in the early churches as Gary wrote in an article?

And, Philosophically thinking, if a person who has not heard the Gospel but has kept a sincere heart toward transcendence (or being a gd person), wouldn't the Holy Spirit help guide the person regardless of her lack of biblical faith?   

blessings.

Offline Tony N

• Bronze
    • Saviour of All Fellowship
Re: baptism and the Holy Spirit
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2008, 08:16:16 PM »
Hi bros and sis,

Is the ritual of baptism necessary for one to receive the Holy Ghost? I know this is a symbol of one's commitment to a Christian life, but how symbolic is it? I've hovered around this site but haven't found an answer.

If so, why were the baptisteries not found in the early churches as Gary wrote in an article?

Here is a four-part series On Baptism that should answer your question:

http://www.concordant.iweb.nl/knoch/bapt01.htm

And, Philosophically thinking, if a person who has not heard the Gospel but has kept a sincere heart toward transcendence (or being a gd person), wouldn't the Holy Spirit help guide the person regardless of her lack of biblical faith?   

blessings.

Are they doing the good things as a form of self righteousness? "All our righteousness is as filthy rags." The person needs Christ's righteousness. Of course, any good we do, if not tainted by sinful pride is probably God's work. If the person doing good does not ascribe to God the thanks due Him for any good we do then, again, he sins.
Just because God says He will save all mankind