Author Topic: Something I thought about while reading the Gospel of Thomas  (Read 1759 times)

Implosion

I know that Christian Universalism teaches that all people will be reconciled into heaven (or with God), but I really feel there might be more. I'm sure this has probably already been discussed, and in that case I really want to hear what you have to say about it. Anyways, here is what I have come across:

We know that those who accept Jesus and follow his ways will be united with God in Heaven. And we know Hell is a false idea. But in the Universalistic teachings (or so what I've read, as I'm new to this line of thinking), everybody will ultimately be reconciled to God, because Jesus saved them. Well, what about those that continually refuse to repent? I know the Bible talks about those kind of people (I'm too tired right now to find the exact verses). You know the verses that talk about the chaff being cast away, the unfruitful branches being burned, those who are cast into the lake of fire, (and many other things)? Well, what if they themselves (as in, their individual selves and individual awareness) aren't preserved and are destroyed, but the soul eventually absorbs back into God? What I mean is, their personal sense of individuality is completely removed, and they are brought back into God? So say those who follow Jesus and repent and become like him, keep their individuality and retain their memories, and are given into a literal "heaven" that most people think of heaven as (with streets of gold and such), but those that don't follow him are essentially destroyed, but their matter is drawn back into God?

I know I am not the best at writing this out, this is kinda hard to describe, but I hope you get what I am talking about. I don't know where this fits in, but in reading the Gospel of Thomas and having the spirit of God personally show you the meaning of his sayings, it really seems to me like this is a possibility.

Paul Hazelwood